Trade your Mac for cash or discount on a new ONE

We have been taking trade–ins since the day we opened in 1993. Trading in is a great way to save some money off your new Mac and be environmentally conscious in the process. 

Systems that are covered under AppleCare will be approved on the spot after a quick inspection for damage. Systems that are no longer under AppleCare need to be signed in and tested for 24-48 hours.

Tell us about what you've got

Name *
Use the Model Identifier from the System Information app (it's in the Utilities folder)
Tell us the speed of your machine, how much RAM you have installed, the size of the hard drive/SSD, whether you have the original box and if the system is covered by AppleCare
Is this Mac part of our Guaranteed Buyback Program? *
For more info, click on Goodies - Guaranteed Buyback at the top of the page.
Trade for Cash or New Mac? *
Do you want to just sell us your Mac for cash or will you be trading in toward a new system? Trade for a new Mac and you'll only pay tax on the difference!

Tips for trading in: 

Systems under AppleCare are worth more. If you have the original computer box, let us know because that adds value too. 

Make sure you back up your data before bringing your Mac in for testing. 

If your trade is being done as part of our Guaranteed Buyback Program let us know in the Additional Comments what Mac you'd like to trade up to.

How to erase your mac properly before selling

Learn how to back up and remove the data from your Mac before selling or giving the computer away.

When preparing to sell or give away your Mac, you may want to erase some or all files from its hard drive. But first determine whether you should back up your computer and disable certain features and services. These steps show the recommended sequence of actions:

  1. Deauthorize your computer from iTunes, if applicable.
  2. Back up your data using Time Machine or other backup method.
  3. If you use Find My Mac or other iCloud features on this Mac, complete these steps:
    • Back up your iCloud content.
    • Choose Apple Menu () > System Preferences, then click iCloud.
    • Deselect the Find My Mac checkbox.
    • Sign out of iCloud. When you sign out of iCloud, you're asked whether you want to remove iCloud data from your Mac. Removing iCloud data in this way makes sure that the data isn't also removed from any of your other devices that are using the same iCloud account.
  4. If you're using OS X Mountain Lion v10.8 or later, sign out of iMessage:
    • In the Messages app, choose Preferences > Accounts.
    • Select your iMessage account, then click Sign Out.
  5. Reformat your hard drive and reinstall macOS. The easiest method is to restart your Mac and hold Command-R and use the Restore tools. 
  6. After you reformat your hard drive and reinstall macOS, the computer restarts to a Welcome screen and asks you to choose a country or region. If you want to leave the Mac in an out-of-box state, don't continue with the setup of your system. Instead, press Command-Q to shut down the Mac. When the new owner turns on the Mac, the Setup Assistant will guide them through the setup process.